#189 The Art of Racing in the Rain

20160430_131637

A heart-warming and inspirational tale in which Enzo, a loyal family dog, tells the story of his human family, how they nearly fell apart, and what he did to bring them back together

Sepertinya sudah beberapa kali saya melihat judul novel ini berseliweran, meski entah di mana atau di daftar apa saya melihatnya. Buat saya, judulnya sudah menarik. Kemudian ada gambar anjing di sampul depannya. Well, what is it about? Secara garis besar, novel ini mengisahkan drama sebuah keluarga. Spesialnya, drama ini disampaikan dari sudut pandang seekor Anjing bernama Enzo. Seekor anjing ras campuran (yang saya lupa ras apa saja tapi sepertinya punya darah terrier juga) yang diadopsi oleh Denny Swift, seorang pembalap mobil.

“Don’t run like that; Enzo will bite you.” She did that frequently, doubt me like that. But one time, Denny turned on her quickly and said: “Enzo would never hurt her -ever!” And he was right. I knew I was different from other dogs. I had a certain willpower that was strong enough to overcome my more primal insticnts. What Eve said was not out of line, as most dogs cannot help themselves; they see an animal running and they track it and they go after it. But that sort of thing doesn’t apply to me.

Enzo akan menceritakan kehidupan Denny dan kehidupan Denny bersama dengannya. Tentang Eve, “musuh” Enzo yang kemudian menjadi love of life Denny. Tentang Denny dan Eve yang membangun keluarga kecil hingga kedatangan Zoe, anak gadis mereka. Kehidupan keluarga kecil Denny yang dramatis akibat sakit yang diderita Eve dan konflik keluarga lainnya. Dan di sela itu semua, selalu ada satu dua insight tentang dunia balapan. Which Enzo has mastered by watching Denny’s racing videotape.

“You’re tough,” he said. “You can do three days like that because you’re on tough dog.”

I felt proud.

“I know you’d never do anything deliberately to hurt Zoe,” he said.

I laid my head on his leg and looked up at him.

“Sometimes I think you actually understand me,” he said. “It’s like there’s a person inside there. Like you know everything.”

I do, I said to myself. I do.

Yang menarik, adalah karakter Enzo si anjing yang pintar. Pintar lebih dari sekadar anjing peliharaan yang umumnya pintar (did you get what I meant?). In so many parts, I laugh through his point of view. How Enzo is really proud of himself, and so confidence about him being human later in his next life :widesmile:

Truth is, this novel is quite page-turning. I read through Enzo’s narration in 2 days 1 night. It was a powerful novel, a rich narration though it comes from a dog’s point of view and heart-warming all the way. I’m really glad to have found this in the library and decided to brought it home along with another 4 interesting novels.

Last but not least, please, give this novel a chance. Especially if you have pet(s) and adore animal with their distinct characters and behaviors. And while this one has witty narration and quite wistful on the inside, it also has great characters inside such as the gentleman Denny and brave Eve. I love this novel as a whole package and I wish you too, will.


Title: The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Release Date: 2009 Edition
Publisher: HARPER
Format: Paperback 
Page Count: 336 pages
Genre: Fiction, Contemporary, Animals, Family

 

Leave a Reply

