#163 [Graphic Novel] Shoplifter

Corrina Park used to have big plans.

Studying English literature in college, she imagined writing a successful novel and leading the idealized life of an author. But she’s been working at the same advertising agency for the past five years and the only thing she’s written is . . . copy. Corrina knows there must be more to life, but and she faces the same question as does everyone in her generation: how to find it?

atmb_add_book-70x25


 

Maybe the thing about this graphic novel that gripped me was how this quick-read have a good short story and delivered nicely in graphic. It’s not that slice-of-life theme is uncommon in manga world. But one way or another, this graphic novel surprised you with its silence and un-hurry plot. Thought-provoking.

Uggh, I hate feeling this way. Like I’m pinned down with a rock on my chest. –page 24

Shoplifter makes me think about things happened in my life. I feel like I am as unfortunate as Corrina. We ended up circling an unhappy life. Floating. Just because we are afraid -afraid but never admitted that we have fears to concurred if we wanted to see things get better.

I’m sure other people can do that. They’re in Europe, or in a cabin somewhere by the sea, writing their books.
They can take the risk.
But they also have the talent.
I wonder how much of that is just something I’ve seen in a movie.
Still, I’d love to be able to do it. Just give it all up and start another life somewhere.
To be someone new. Somewhere new.
If someone offered that to me. I’d jump at it. –page 49

Our first and big mistake was waiting for something/someone who isn’t there. Waiting for help without knowing if it’s really out there.

But I can’t always be about policy. I think you are a nice woman. I don’t think you are a thief.
I think maybe you are just making a bad mistake. Like anybody.
I know you don’t know me. But I don’t think you are a shoplifter. So please
just go home now. Don’t do this again. Don’t make me wrong. –page 79

But Corrina should be considered lucky because finally she could open her eyes and not letting herself got betrayed by her insecurities any more. It was all because one soft reminder that hit directly and it comes from the store-keeper where she’s used to shoplifting magazine.

I’m not sure. Whatever it is, I know I have to find it, instead of waiting for it to find me. –page 88


Title: Shoplifter
Author (and Artist): Michael Cho
Release Date: September 2nd, 2014
Publisher: Pantheon
Format: .cbr
Page Count: 96 pages
Status: Read on February 5th, 2015
Genre: Graphic Novel, Adult, Urban, Realistic Fiction


Submitted for: Lucky No.15 #4: Category – Who Are You Again?

One thought on “#163 [Graphic Novel] Shoplifter

  1. Pingback: [Monthly Recap] February ’15 | Faraziyya's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

