[What’s Up] Reading Slump

Good night, everyone…

Actually, I’m not in a good condition. No, I don’t mean its about my health. Because I’m perfectly fine, Alhamdulillah. Its my reading state. I feel sad to know that I’m reading in slow speed. I’m currently reading A Tale for The Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. I began to read in on January 3rd and up until now, my progress’s only up to 45%.

a tale for the time being

 

“Surfer, wave, same thing.”

I don’t know why I bother. “That’s just stupid,” I said. “A surfer’s a person. A wave is a wave. How can they be the same?”

Jiko looked out across the ocean to where the water met the sky. “A wave is born from deep conditions of the ocean,” she said. “A person is born from deep conditions of the world. A person pokes up from the world and rolls along like a wave, until it is time to sink down again. Up, down. Person, wave.”

She pointed to the steep cliffs along the shoreline. “Jiko, mountain, same thing. The mountain is tall and will live a long time. Jiko is small and will not live much longer. That’s all.”

The books itself is not the easy kind one. I admitted it. It was also thick and the narration filled with desperate atmosphere because our heroine obsessed with suicide topic. Gloomy. Melancholic. It’s dragging you without you knowing. The feeling I have while reading it was almost the same as the feeling I had when I watched Sylvia (a biopic of Sylvia Plath). Its good though. Definitely thought-provoking. Besides, there are many information about Japanese cultural things inside it.

Aside of that, I really need to push myself to write reviews. For real.

BUT it’s a slump condition. You can not called it ‘slump’ unless you really in condition a where you can’t make yourself be productive about something, no?

What should I do? Drifting myself from A Tale for The Time Being and seeking another book that’s easier to finish so then I can comeback with more reading spirit? And as for writing reviews block, what do I need to do? Tell me.

signature

 

4 thoughts on “[What’s Up] Reading Slump

  1. Hm, I once experienced a bad reading slump. I even not interested to see any book (!) But well. Maybe you should try to pick another book that you enjoy it very much and write an ‘easy’ review. Don’t be so hard to your selfπŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. try to re-read your favorite book. works for me. as for writing reviews, i usually set the mood like sitting in front of the notebook i keep for writing, and also with a pile of books i want to review. then i grab any book i want, and re-read some parts. that way, i end up writing. :))

    Like

    • I’ll take your advice in writing reviews. You know what? Now I’m having the piles on my right side. Maybe I could get lucky tonight and writing at least one reviewπŸ™‚
      Thanks, owlπŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

