My 2014 in Books

PhotoGrid_1420471935583

Taking the end of year book survey format of categorization, I presents you my colorful year of reading.

~Reading stats~

Number of Books You Read : 128 books

Number of Re-Reads : Two (but it was kind reading it again in other language adition)

Genre You Read The Most From : Young Adults (and Middle Grade) contemporary novels and General Fiction. 

~Best In Books~

  1. Best book(s) you read in 2014?

  • And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Khosseini
  • After I Do by Taylor Jenkins Reid
  • Bird by Crystal Chan
  • Bulan Nararya by Sinta Yudisia
  • One Plus One by Jojo Moyes
  • Out of The Easy by Ruta Sepetys
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, and
  • The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
  1. Book(s) you were excited about and thought you were going to love more but didn’t? A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall.

  2. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck. I read it because its a short-read.Turned out, this classic got me.

  3. Book you ‘pushed’ the most people to read (and they did) in 2014? Reality Boy, mba Darnia (fellow Goodreads friend) read it and really liked it after recommended it to her. Out of the Easy, I pushed it to ka astrid and I guess she actually liked it. And in the last days of 2014, Ka Mia took my recommendation on One Plus One and she liked it too.

  4. Best series you started in 2014? Best sequel of 2014? Best series ender of 2014? I don’t read much series, but for the starter I think Cinder is pretty good. I remember get caught in my animated imagination thanks to the way the world building in the novel narrated.

  5. Favorite new author(s) you discovered in 2014? Emily St. John Mandel, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Crystal Chan, and Laksmi Pamuntjak. I crave their other works since I read theirs fro the first time.

  6. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? Before I Go to Sleep and Therapy. Both are thriller, and I’m thrilled😀

  7. Most action packed/thrilling/unputdownable book(s) of the year? Before I Go to Sleep by S. J. Watson.

  8. Book you read in 2014 that you are most likely to re-read next year? The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society. I remember I liked it so much so I’d like to experience it once more.

  9. Favorite cover of  books you read in 2014?

  10. Most memorable character(s) of 2014? Pari (Abdullah’s daughter) from And the Mountains Echoed, Josie Moraine from Out of the Easy, Finn Easton from 100 Sideway Miles,

  11. Most beautifully written book(s) you read in 2014?Its a collected poems, thats why I found it the most beautiful one.

  12. Most thought-provoking/life-changing book(s) of 2014? And The Mountains Echoed, After I Do, Out of The Easy, To Kill a Mockingbird, and One Plus One.

  13. Book(s) you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read? The Secret Garden and Peter Pan. Ha!

  14. Favorite passage/quote from a book you read in 2014?

    “I leapt eagerly into books. The characters’ lives were so much more interesting than the lonely heartbeat of mine.”

  15. Shortest & longest book you read in 2014? Shortest, might be The Raven by Edgar Allan Poe. And the longet mut be Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

  16. Book that shocked you the most (because of a plot twist, character death, left you hanging with your mouth wide open, etc). We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  17. OTP(s) OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar) Lauren & Ryan from After I Do and Alice & Nick from What Alice Forgot. Both are married couple and meant to be. Juliet & Dawsey from The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, because they’re so cute. Also, Jo & Jesse from Out of The Easy because no matter how attractive Patrick was, I would still ship Jesse to be with Jo.

  18. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year. George & Lennie from Of Mice and Men.

  19. Favorite Book(s) You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously. Bulan Nararya, One Plus One, Out of The Easy and Reality Boy

  20. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure. I don’t think I have one. Because mostly, I searched myself the book i’m going to read.

  21. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014? Wells from The 100 and Jesse from Out of The Easy.

  22. Best 2014 debut you read? Bird by Crystal Chan. 

  23. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  24. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read? 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith and Sophia & Pink by Sinta Yudisia.

  25. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014? All my favorite books i’ve mentioned above made me cry and nearly cry.

  26. Hidden Gem Of The Year? Bird by Crystal Chan. Oh, I mentioned this one again.I loved it I wish it would win Newbery or at least get more attention.

  27. Book That Crushed Your Soul? And The Mountains Echoed, crushed my soul the most.

  28. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014? Aruna & Lidahnya by Laksmi Pamuntjak. Most of the chapters begins with a narration of Aruna’s dreams. It was kinda get along but also unrelated to the plot.

  29. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)? Maybe Rindu from Tere Liye. But it was more dissapointment I felt.

Its a satisfying year of reading actually, except for the reading challenges I’m joining in which I failed most of them. I’m pretty sure I’m going to read even more awesome books in this 2015. See you🙂

signature

Leave a Reply

