#108 The False Prince

In a discontent kingdom, civil war is brewing. To unify the divided people, Conner, a nobleman of the court, devises a cunning plan to find an impersonator of the king’s long-lost son and install him as a puppet prince. Four orphans are recruited to compete for the role, including a defiant boy named Sage. Sage knows that Conner’s motives are more than questionable, yet his life balances on a sword’s point — he must be chosen to play the prince or he will certainly be killed. But Sage’s rivals have their own agendas as well.

As Sage moves from a rundown orphanage to Conner’s sumptuous palace, layer upon layer of treachery and deceit unfold, until finally, a truth is revealed that, in the end, may very well prove more dangerous than all of the lies taken together.

my thoughts

When I added this book to my wishlist shelf, what I knew was that the cover attracted me. Next, the synopsis did convince me.

Well, my feeling after read it?

Hmm… fast pace story. Could be finished at a time, but for me, its not that pageturner.

Lets talk about Sage. One of four orphans  who happened kidnapped by Conner –a regent in the kingdom Carthya. Conners will was to have them as identical as Prince Jaron -whose existence was not known and rumored to be dead four years ago. Sages meant to be a puppet for Conner, if the plan is accomplished. But it turned out that Sage is not easy to give in.

He’s ignorant, arrogant, and his mouth really sharp. In the beginning, I was not very fond of Sage like that. I even felt he was a character that sucks. But, Sage was the most similar to Prince Jaron. Readers also will eventually feel it. And I can’t help myself not to guess the next plot, it was kinda predictable.

Not to say that it was bad for the whole story. Not really. Not at all. Because the author turned it out good. For the last 12 chapter, yes there’re 54 chapter here, its easy to stir my opinion of Sage. I turned out to like him. More to it, I like Mott who’s there for him and know him for who he is.

The end of the book caught me curious for the sequel. Still, i feel something’s off at the ‘emotion department’. But maybe because it was a fast pace kind of book. I don’t know. Oh right,  I want to complain about the names too. I wish, the author could give more beautiful names. Its just, I dislike the name Jaron for the Prince’s name. Like, really? And Imogen? A big no.

I read the Indonesian translation edition of this book, so I guess  I need to comment a little about how the translation worked. Well, the translation was okay but not enough to make me really enjoy the story. And for the sequel, I think i’m just going to read the original narration.

Last, but not least, I have this book as a gift from my Secret Santa. I really want to thank her for it -still i‘m not sure enough. But i must say that after I gathered the clues, my guess is that my Secret Santa was kak Bzee. The notebook with theme ‘Classic’, then B10 (I take the B alphabet from it), we have some similarity (I linked it to our Linkin Park bias), she’s from Solo (I knew it from the receipt, and I thought middle earth must be East Java :-P). I wish I made a right guess. If not, please forgive me my real Secret Santa. I’ll wait for your confession in the the day the Secret Santa reveal him/herself.

Again. Thanks a lot for providing me good company like this novel, dear SS Middle Earth.

thank you SS

The False Prince – Pangeran Palsu | Jennifer A. Nielsen| Paperback, 392 pages | Published October 2013 by Gramedia Pustaka Utama (first published April 1st 2012) | Edition Language: Indonesia |

4 hearts

Submitted for:

5eede-postingbarengbbi2014

Edisi Review the gifts and reveal Secret Santa 2013

d8a3f-yarc7b8e6-nuauthor-2

Lucky No.14 RC

First Letter’s Rule Category

Series RC

The Ascendace Trilogy

16 thoughts on “#108 The False Prince

    • Semoga mas dion salah.
      Asli, aku ngga sempat diskusi ke siapa-siapa untuk nebak SS ini. Cuma dari awal, firasatku kak Bzee. Ah, semoga benar😄

      Like

  1. Hallooo, maaf baru sempat nongol di sini. Tebakan Anda benar sekali :))
    Persamaan memang ada beberapa, termasuk nama panggilan dan selera musik (waktu itu selain Linkin Park ada The Corrs juga yg sama, kalo ga salah). Notebook classic juga ketebak, salah satu genre favoritku, terus map motif batik untuk menunjukkan tempat asalku, sayangnya aku salah pilih ekspedisi, jadi ketahuan banget kalau di Solo, tadinya mau nulis Jawa atau Jawa Tengah, tapi sampai kata Middle kok langsung kepikiran Middle Earth, jadi sebetulnya itu spontan aja sih. Aslinya aku mau cari pernak-pernik berbau timun *blush* tapi kok dimana2 adanya tomat atau stroberi, jadilah terpaksa ambil Ben10, soalnya sudah terobsesi duluan buat mencantumkan tentang ‘itu’, wkwkwk, sampe dua hari menyisir rak-rak asesoris di dua toko buku.

    Terima kasih ya reviewnya, semoga sekuelnya lebih berkesan untukmu. Semoga pernak-perniknya bermanfaat, dan terima kasih sudah menebak dengan benar (termasuk B-nya itu, hahaha *toelmbakdani*)

    Salam hangat, sehangat semburan Smaug😄

    Like

    • yeeeaay! Tebakanku beneerr!
      kemarin tu, pas teh peni komen katanya mengenali tulisan tangan SS-ku, tadinya aku mau nanya lagi untuk memastikan. Eh, akunya lupaa. hehhe.

      Makasih ya kak Bzee, sudah memberikan riddle yang ngga terlalu sulit ditebak😀

      Like

  2. Pingback: [Monthly Recap] January ’14 | Faraziyya's Bookshelf

  3. Pingback: NARC End of Year Wrap Up Post | Faraziyya's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

