Musing Mondays #1

Hosted by MizB (Should Be Reading)

Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

my musing

I’m currently reading Watership Down by Richard Adams. Its a fable, staring a group of rabbits. I read this because ‘fable’ is one of the prompt of Baca Bareng BBI for January (its an event where we, indonesian book bloggers, together reading books in a same theme -every month will require us different themes). My progress still 7%, though. But i expected it will be a good read.

Watership Down is stunning – a compulsive read. The story is a picaresque saga about a motley band of rabbits who desert their ancient warren when the gentle Fiver predicts imminent destruction of all who remain. Led by Fiver’s intelligent brother Hazel the refugees set out on an epic search fro a new home.

This book was quite old. It was first published on 1972! Its far far away from the year i was born X) On Goodreads, the average rating for this book is  4.01! Quite high, and it comes from 178.836 ratings. Promising, isn’t it?

Reading this, i can’t help but to imagine the rabbits talk. I visioned them in their tiny figure, eating grass while talking to their companion. It’s cute, like i’m watching natgeo video of (not really) wild life but certainly not in silence mode.

Oh yes, another musing.

Last weekend,  Jan 18 to 19, i ‘ve done review-a-thon. Any activity could blend with ‘a-thon’ and that’s marathon in reading; marathon in writing reviews; etc. It’s okay, though. I’m doing it impulsively because there’re piles of to-review finished books that i’ve left behind. Its not like i review all the books i’ve read, but i would definitely review some books that i found it good when i read it. But then, i’m not paying enough attention of that some books too (-,-)a. Isn’t it easier to continue to read next book rather than having time to write down the review right after finishing it? Hehhe. Maybe it’ just me (-.-);

4 thoughts on “Musing Mondays #1

  1. Welcome to Musing Mondays!
    I read Watership Down a long time ago–and I’ve never looked at rabbits the same way since then!
    I don’t review every book I read–now that I’m on Goodreads I give everything a starred review, but I’m afraid that I’d start thinking reading was a chore if I felt I had to write a review of every book.

    Like

    • I’m afraid that I’d start thinking reading was a chore if I felt I had to write a review of every book.

      whaa, you have a nice point there. same here🙂
      well, the review-a-thon i’ve done was devoted the books i really want to review beceuse i loved them before.

      Like

Leave a Reply

